Advisory Boards

Faculty Advisory Board

Dr. Emily Hind (Photo Credit: Timothy Sofranko)

A Faculty Advisory Committee for the Center for the Humanities and the Public Sphere has been appointed for 2018-2019 in consultation with the Dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (CLAS). The Humanities Center Advisory Committee will advise the Director in the development and maintenance of the Center’s programs.

  • Robert D’Amico, Philosophy
  • Nina Caputo, History
  • Luis Alvarez-Castro, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
  • James Essegbey, Linguistics and African Studies
  • Margaret Galvan, English and Digital Humanities
  • Ingrid Kleespies, Languages, Literatures, and Cultures
  • Maya Stanfield-Mazzi, Art History
  • Jennifer Rea, Classics
  • Benjamin Soares, Religion, and interdisciplinary Middle Eastern Studies


Executive Board

Dr. Robert D’Amico, PHOTO: Timothy Sofranko for The College of Liberal Art’s and Sciences

The Humanities Center Executive Board (composed of CLAS Humanities Chairs and Associate Deans) is charged with meeting with the Director and the Dean to review annual activities, progress in fund raising, and plans for future years. The 2018-2019 Executive Board includes:

  • African American Studies: Sharon Austin
  • Classics: Mary Ann Eaverly
  • English: Sid Dobrin
  • European Studies: Amie Kreppel
  • History: Elizabeth Dale
  • Jewish Studies: Jack Kugelmass
  • Languages, Literatures, and Cultures: Akintunde Akinyemi
  • Linguistics: Eric Potsdam
  • Philosophy: John Palmer
  • Religion: Terje Østebø
  • Spanish and Portuguese Studies: Gillian Lord
  • Gender, Sexualities, and Women’s Studies: Bonnie Moradi
  • CLAS Associate Dean for Centers and Programs: Mary Watt
  • CLAS Associate Dean in Humanities: David Pharies